Thu 14th March, 2019
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm (Doors: 7:30pm)
Cabaret Seated

Buy Tickets

Bookings are closed for this event.

Tagged in: Folk

Mawkin’s extraordinary brand of boisterous folk music is one to warm hearts, minds and feet. Built on a solid traditional foundation and influenced by the swagger of 90s indie rock and Bellowhead-style brouhaha, this five-piece’s sound comes alive with a large dose of Essex-boy energy on stage. No surprise then that MOJO regards them as ‘unconditionally mighty’, and Q Magazine declares them ‘invigorating and highly inventive’. The 2019 album and tour ‘Down Among the Dead Men’ is a confident stride forward for a band that’s gathering serious momentum.

Essex-based Mawkin’s acclaimed 2015 album ‘The Ties That Bind’ surprised critics and led fans to proclaim the band a ‘modern-day Fairport’. This not only propelled Mawkin onto the main stages of Cambridge Folk Festival and Towersey Folk Festival, but also bagged them the privilege of supporting Bellowhead on their farewell tour of 2016.

2019 sees the five-piece capitalise on this success with the release of the crowdfunded studio album ‘Down Among the Dead Men’ and corresponding tour of national arts centres and theatres. The album heralds a bold move forward with a more visceral, amplified sound that’s grounded not just in confidence but also in exquisite musicality.

The band pride themselves on their DIY approach. Recorded at the Giant Wafer Studio in mid-Wales, the album was produced by Lee and mastered by Nick. It will be released on the band’s own label, Good Form Records.

As a quintet they are not short of kudos. Brothers James and David Delarre are well-known for their involvement with Eliza Carthy, Norma Waterson, Jim Moray and Topette! They have also provided stand-in support for Bellowhead. Nick Cooke plays melodeon with Kate Rusby and False Lights, and is also a leading mastering engineer. Lee Richardson is an award-winning producer of TV, advertising and trailer music.

‘Masculine, muscular folk quintet’ – The Independent

‘A gutsy re-working of traditional Songs’ – The Guardian

‘Unconditionally mighty’ – MOJO

‘Invigorating, highly inventive’ – Q Magazine

‘Unapologetically energetic’ – Songlines Magazine

‘A wholly edgier version of folk’ – Cambridge News

‘The Pogue-ish sound that resides in young men’s heads’ – The Independent

The band’s line-up is:

James Delarre: Vocals, Violin
David Delarre: Vocals, Guitar
Nick Cooke: Melodeon
Danny Crump: Bass
Lee Richardson: Drums